了解 EB-5 投资中的再投资

P根据目前美国移民局的政策,每位 EB-5 投资者在两年的有条件居留期(即“维持期”)内,都须将其投资款维持在“风险投资”状态。如果一笔 EB-5 投资在投资者完成其维持期之前得到偿还,那么为了保持资金处于“风险投资”状态,再投资是必要的。

我们的策略

EB5 Capital 的再投资策略的核心是将未完成维持期的投资者的资本重新投资到一个称为“再投资基金”的新基金中,为商业地产项目提供资金。

根据每个基金内 EB-5 投资者的预计符合还款资格的时间,再投资基金能够确定并投资于不同期限的商业地产项目中。

举例

就业基金中的投资者如果尚未获得投资款返还的资格,那么其资金将被重新投资到再投资基金中。再投资基金将投资于各类商业地产项目中,以保持资金处于“风险投资”状态。

下图将以图片的形式展示我们的再投资流程

Redeployment Explainer Graphic
A visual representation of EB5 Capital’s Redeployment strategy.

理解目标流动性的价值

EB5 Capital 的再投资基金管理公司在战略上寻求实现“目标流动性”,其方法是在再投资基金中确定合适的资产组合标的,为投资于该基金的投资者提供充足的基金退出机会。

例如: 假设再投资基金中有 30 位投资者——其中 10 位预计将在 1 年内完成有条件绿卡的维持期,其余 20 位预计在 5 年内完成维持期。再投资基金将计划对两个项目进行投资: 项目 A,投资 500 万美元,投资期近一年; 项目 B,投资 1,000 万美元,投资期 5 年。

常见问题解答

截至 2021 年第二季度,我们已完成 8 个合伙企业的再投资。

截至 2020 年第四季度,62 位投资者经过再投资后得到了偿还。

EB5 Capital 的再投资基金管理公司在战略上寻求实现“目标流动性”,其方法是在再投资基金中确定合适的资产组合标的,为投资于该基金的投资者提供充足的基金退出机会。

有些区域中心在进入再投资阶段时强调向投资者提供“投资项目A”或“投资项目B”这样的选项,将投资者的投资款返还限制在单一资产上。EB5 Capital 的“目标流动性”策略旨在根据每位投资者的维持期到期日,将投资风险分散并拥有多个退出机会。我们深知您的 EB-5 投资是一项宝贵的资产,所以确保您的资金投入到优质的商业地产项目中是我们非常重视的工作。

EB5 Capital 的再投资基金管理公司在战略上寻求实现“目标流动性”,其方法是在再投资基金中确定合适的资产组合标的,为投资于该基金的投资者提供充足的基金退出机会。再投资基金项下的投资项目将随时间而变化。维持必要的资本事件机会以偿还符合还款资格的投资者,将是基金经理在追求稳健的再投资项目时的首要目标。

再投资和某位投资者的再投资期限取决于投资者个人的维持期。当个人的维持期结束后,处于再投资状态的投资者将有机会在再投资基金下一次资本事件中获得投资款返还并退出基金。所需时间可能在几个月到几年。

在维持期结束后,处于再投资状态的投资者将有机会在再投资基金下一次资本事件中获得投资款返还并退出基金。

投资者有资格在其两年有条件居留期满前 90 天提交撤资申请表,而这并不影响其 EB-5 移民流程。投资者将收到该日期之后第一次资本事件中的资金分配。由于投资款的返还在任何特定时间都不能提供保障,因此投资者得到资金返还的时间会有所不同。然而,我们的目标是在投资者符合还款资格后的一年内进行资金返还,并且我们曾在更短的时间内偿还了符合资格的投资者。

如果是的话,会进行几次?再投资和某位投资者的再投资期限完全取决于投资者个人的维持期。当个人的维持期结束后,处于再投资状态的投资者将有机会在再投资基金下一次资本事件中获得投资款返还并退出基金。所需时间可能在几个月到几年。如果一位投资者尚未符合还款资格,那么其资金可能会在再投资期间投入或退出多个项目。投资者资金投入和退出项目的数量取决于再投资基金项下投资项目的期限,以及投资者具体的维持期。

每当有新成员加入再投资基金或再投资基金认购新的投资项目时,投资者将收到一封告知最新进展的邮件,EB5 Capital将会提供资产组合中新资产的概述。

我们选择再投资的商业地产项目与初始投资项目类似。因此,再投资的风险与投资者选择其初始投资项目时的风险类似。

Understanding Redeployment in EB-5 Investments

Per current USCIS policy, every EB-5 investor is required to maintain their funds “at-risk” through the completion of their two-year conditional residence period (or sustainment period). Redeployment is necessary to maintain the funds “at-risk” if an EB-5 investment is repaid prior to an investor completing their respective sustainment period.


Our Strategy

EB5 Capital’s redeployment strategy centers around reinvesting the capital contribution of investors who have not completed their sustainment period into a fund – referred to as a Redeployment Fund – that finances commercial real estate (CRE) projects.

Redeployment Funds identify and invest in CRE projects with varying terms based on the projected repayment eligibility of the EB-5 investors within each fund.


A Simple Example

Investors in a Jobs Fund who are not eligible to have their investment repaid see their funds reinvested into a Redeployment Fund. The Redeployment Fund (RF) then invests in a variety of CRE assets to maintain the investment’s at-risk status.

The graphic below demonstrates a visual representation of how our redeployment program works.

Redeployment Explainer Graphic
A visual representation of EB5 Capital’s Redeployment strategy.


Understanding the Value of Targeted Liquidity

EB5 Capital’s redeployment fund managers strategically seek to achieve “targeted liquidity” by identifying the right combination of underlying assets to include in a redeployment fund to provide for ample fund exit opportunities for those invested in the fund.

For Example: Suppose RF is comprised of 30 investors – 10 of which are projected to complete their sustainment period within one year, and 20 of which are projected to complete their sustainment period in 5 years. RF will seek to make an underlying investment in two projects – Project A, a $5M investment with a term close to one year; and Project B, a $10M investment with a term of 5 years.

Frequently Asked Questions and Answers (FAQs)

As of May 2020, 7 of our partnerships have been redeployed.

As of May 2020, 51 of our investors have been successfully repaid through redeployment.

EB5 Capital’s redeployment fund managers strategically seek to achieve what we call “targeted liquidity” by identifying the right combination of underlying assets in each Redeployment Fund to provide for ample exit opportunities for those invested.

Some Regional Centers emphasize offering investors the choice of “Investment A” or “Investment B” when entering the redeployment phase, limiting the ultimate repayment of investors to a single asset. EB5 Capital’s “targeted liquidity” strategy allows each individual investor diversified investment risk as well as multiple exit opportunities based upon their sustainment period completion date.

We recognize your EB-5 investment is a precious asset. Making sure your capital is invested in sound CRE investments is a job we take very seriously.

EB5 Capital’s redeployment fund managers strategically seek to achieve “targeted liquidity” by identifying the right combination of underlying assets to include in a redeployment fund to provide for ample fund exit opportunities for those invested in the fund.

Investments held inside of a Redeployment Fund will vary over time. The goal of maintaining requisite opportunities for capital events to repay investors who are eligible for repayment will be at the forefront in guiding fund managers’ pursuit of sound redeployment investments.

Redeployment and the length of one’s redeployment is dependent on the investor’s individual sustainment period. After completing one’s sustainment period, a redeployed investor will be given the chance to be repaid and exit the fund at the next available capital event inside of their Redeployment Fund. This could take anywhere from several months to several years.

After completing one’s sustainment period, a redeployed investor will be given the chance to be repaid and exit the fund at the next available capital event inside of their Redeployment Fund.

An investor is eligible to submit a Withdrawal Request Form 90 days prior to the end of their two-year conditional residence period without jeopardizing their EB-5 immigration process. The investor will then receive a distribution upon the first capital event to occur after such date. As there is no guarantee of a return of funds at any particular time, the time of a return of funds will vary. However, we aim to provide repayment within a year of becoming eligible, and have previously repaid eligible investors on a much shorter timeline.

Redeployment and the length of one’s redeployment period is completely dependent on their individual sustainment period. After completing one’s sustainment period, a redeployed investor will be given the chance to be repaid and exit the fund at the next available capital event inside of their Redeployment Fund. This could take anywhere from several months to several years. 

An investor who is ineligible for repayment may see their money enter and exit several projects while in redeployment. The number of projects one’s money flows into and out of is dependent on the terms of the underlying Redeployment Fund investments, and their specific required sustainment period.

Investors will receive an email update each time a new member joins their Redeployment Fund or their Redeployment Fund acquires a new investment. EB5 Capital will provide brief overviews of new assets as they come into our portfolio.

We have selected redeployment into commercial real estate assets, which are similar to the initial investment. Thus, the risks upon redeployment are similar to those that were accepted by the investor prior to selecting their initial project.